The Collector

The last book I read was called “The Collector”.  I recently moved into my sister’s old room and found this book. ‘The Collector’ was the book her class had to study during year 11.

The book is about a lonely young man, Fred, who has hobbies of collecting butterflies and photography. He liked to collect the rare, special butterflies. Although, when he wins the pools and sets eyes on an art student called Miranda, his focus is only on her. In his eyes she was the perfect woman. She loved life and was extremely creative.

Fred was then determined to make her into his wife. With all the money he had just won he bought an old house with a cellar in a remote area. Fred converts the cellar into a guest room for Miranda. A guest room you can’t escape from. With months of analysing her and preparing, Fred abducts her.

Buying her everything she liked, like art books, clothes, etc. Fred presumed that Miranda would come to love him after all the goods he had bought for her. But the only thing Miranda truly wants but can’t have is her freedom.

I loved reading this book because of the character Miranda. I liked her personality- sneaky, quick thinking and creative. Fred creeped me out during the book. He was so obsessed with Miranda and the way he treated her was mean.

The first half of the book is in Fred’s perspective and the second is in hers. Whilst I was reading Fred’s half I constantly was confused as to why she was enjoying it there but once I got to her perspective I found out she was all pretending for her escape plan.

I enjoyed reading this book and I suggest for you to read it as well.

One thought on “The Collector

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *